top of page
Writer's pictureMira Gietzel

Kmart Haul



Kmart, my personal paradise for all things weird and wonderful, where every visit feels like I'm a kid in a candy store, and I want absolutely everything.

Kmart Australia has done it again this winter, with a carefully curated collection of copper, marble and pastel pieces. Their on-trend minimalistic and Scandinavian inspired home decor serves as the perfect modernistic addition to any interior, but the best part is the designer-look-living without causing damage to your wallet. I can't wait for the day when I have my own little nook to call home and go on a Kmart decorating frenzy, but really any excuse will do to splurge on some chic knick-knacks and affordable goodies. Below is a compilation of my recent adored purchases from the savings sanctuary, also including clothing and footwear finds.

Homewear:


Marble clock - $8

Its sleek yet simplistic design creates an element of luxury while also satisfying my obsession with marble.


Faux sheep skin rug - $19

I adore this trending peachy-pink rug for its wooly warmth, soft pelage, and its ability to instantly add appeal to both minimal and ostentatious environments. Yet I do fear my dogs and cat will quickly claim and deface it. The design is also available in pure white and ash grey.


Strap Wall Shelf - $19

I purchased this shelf in a marble design, yet ruined a wall in my room whilst trying to install it as it wouldn't properly attach, so unfortunately had to return it. However the piece would've been the perfect addition to a blank feature fall with a rustic meets modern edge.


Marble Place Mat - $2

Although not intended for decor purposes, this placemat comes in handy as a backdrop for taking pictures or as a base for feature arrangements such as a pot plants, perfumes or picture frames.


Skull Pot Plant - $9

A bit of greenery, fake or not, goes a long way in brightening up any room. This plastic succulent is aptly complemented by the white pottery, and would look perfect upon the wall shelf above, (if I could actually assemble it that is...).


Faux Hydrangas - $3 per stem

Hydrangeas much like peonies are a lavish, bounteous bloom, and placed in an empty Smirnoff bottle, has given my bedside table a romantic flair. The stems are also available in blue however these colours match the pink and white toned decor of my other Kmart purchases.


Wooden Look Journal - $3

A girl like me can never have enough note pads, as I fill up pages upon pages with blog ideas, to-do lists, and my thoughts. Its urban and pastoral texture enticed me to acquire it.


Marble Two-Tone Cushion - $10

The amalgamation of dusty pastel pink, modernistic marble and geometric flair combine to create the perfect bedding addition to compliment my surrounding bedroom decor.


Marble MacBook Pro Case - $14

I own a MacBook Air so I haven't actually purchased this divine case, but I'm praying to the Kmart gods that they'll release them soon!


Peachy-Pink Soft Touch Blanket - $18

As pictured above to aesthetically enhance other items, my velvet-feel blanket has provided me with endless warmth and comfort this season making it near-impossible to leave bed each morning, also befriended by my cat.

Clothing & Footwear:


Knee High Boots - $15 (reduced from $35)

Although thigh high boots have been on my wishlist seemingly forever, how could I go past these knee high boots without buying? (I'm quite tall so they don't quite reach my knees but same deal). They are super comfortable and come in a suede-look material that stretches to fit all calf/leg sizes.


White Sheer Button Up - $20

A classic sleeved chiffon shirt is a staple item for every woman's wardrobe, versatile to suit work attire, daily outings or can be dressed up or down for a boho look when accessorised with a cowboy belt buckle. Its long design with side splits is a divine intervention.


'Cooper' Boots - $25

These heeled ankle boots are a winter must have that can be paired with alternative fashion styles. The heel is high enough to dress up an outfit, yet low enough to keep you on your feet all day and night for when I plan to wear them clubbing as a more comfortable alternative to stiletto heels.


Dark Denim Dress - $30

This is the first denim dress I have owned and in the short time since its purchase I swear I haven't taken it off. Comfortable, neutral and classic; this item is a statement on its own which I know will be worn until its unfathomable death without ever being shoved to the back of my closet. The button-down is also available in a light denim shade.


Lace-Up Sandals - $2 (reduced from $5)

I purchased these stylish lace-ups in both nude and black because the price speaks for itself! Perfect for a casual shopping day, running errands and can even be dressed up with a maxi dress.


Crotchet Panel Top - $9 (reduced from $20)

What was formerly a result of your grandmas knitting pastimes, is now a summer (or Australian winter), fashion trend that is bound to make a statement when paired with a lace bra or strappy bralette. This near-sheer blouse compliments all personal styles from preppy to bohemian, and has arrived in stores just in time for the music festival Splendour in the Grass, while allowing air to pass through when you're stuck in claustrophobic mosh pits.


Myself wearing Kmart's denim dress and Cooper Boots.

Let us all praise the Kmart gods for never ending affordable style. Amen.

xxx


bottom of page