top of page
Writer's pictureMira Gietzel

Summer Style on a Budget



If you're living the university life on financial struggle street like myself, I bet you can relate to the dilemma of clothes shopping on a budget but wanting to look like you just stepped off a summer runway fashion show.

With every hard earned penny going straight to my holiday fund jar, I hate the feeling of missing out on replacing my wardrobe each season with new tones and trends, and always have to stop myself reaching for the newest range of boutique bikinis even though I already have multiple designated bikini drawers that are overflowing.

With summer just around the corner again, although never really leaving my sunny home on the Gold Coast, my wardrobe is yearning for new soft linens and satin kinis, but my bank balance is screaming no. A summer shopping spree isn't impossible however, thanks to my super savvy saving skills and affordable online boutiques that are looking out for us broke girls with their on-trend summer steals.

Summer can be a season made especially affordable if you're shopping in the right places, because you won't need to invest in expensive items like new jeans or coats that can rack up a bill. Once you buy seasonal staple pieces like a straw hat and soft cotton blouses, these will stay in rotation for following summers to come and save you more each time.

SUMMER STAPLES:

✨ BIKINIS

During summer holidays you'll find me at the beach every second day, so it's no wonder my brain tries to justify buying a new bikini for each day of the week like its underwear. But with boutique bikini labels charging nearly $100 a piece for separates, i'd need a five figure salary to support my lifestyle. Luckily, online stores such like ZAFUL and ROMWE are here to help my obsessive swimwear addiction with their insanely cheap swim collections that replicate trending designer styles. Before purchasing your usual clothing size, read customer reviews and check the measurements of each piece, as international brands as such tend to size smaller.

These are my favourite sets for under $20 each.

✨ CLOTHING

Romwe and Zaful are also places to shop for cute cheap dresses and clothing. However the best summer staples are often found in linen or cotton blend pieces that are both comfortable and lightweight for warm weather and also look the most flattering. GLASSONS, has such an affordable and insanely appealing range of summer statements, that it's become highly dangerous for me to set foot instore without wanting one of everything. Their linen wrap dresses, A line skirts and on-fire bikini range screams "take me on a european summer vacay" and I'm all about those vibes this season.

Denim shorts are a summer necessity. But many girls alike struggle finding that perfect pair of denim shorts to fit a bigger booty with a small waist that won't cut off circulation to your thighs. But praise almighty I finally got my hands around (and my butt) the perfect pair from Zara called the Mom Fit Bermuda shorts for only $39. BooHoo is another online go-to for beachy throwovers and basics, for all my cheap girls who appreciate free shipping and daily discounts.

Glassons Summer Collection

✨ SANDALS & SLIDES

A nice pair of trending shoes will often leave you out of pocket, but for the most affordable chic designs, Famous Footwear has the cutest range of slip sandals, pool slides and strappy heels perfect for summer.

✨ STRAW HAT

For my last few summers and tropical holidays, my $20 straw hat from Target Australia has worked its magic to compliment every outfit and bikini combo.


✨ STRAW BAGS

My $12 straw basket from Kmart works as the perfect sized beach bag to fit all the essentials, and during the rest of the year serves as a rustic addition to my room decor as a plant holder.


Bamboo bags are trending this summer and are ethically wonderful. But instead of paying up to $100 for these styles, you can find them for nearly a quarter of the price on eBay instead.


✨ BEACH TOWEL

Search for 'round towel' on eBay for cute mandala designs that includes free shipping all for under $15.

✨ SUNGLASSES

The in style of sunglasses changes so often that it's hard to fork out money for each new look, so AliExpress is the place to go for replicas glasses of designer labels all for around $5.

✨ THAT SKIN GLOW

Bondi Sands, Bali Body and Reef are my favourite affordable brands for sunscreens, tanning oils and fake tans that'll have you glowing all summer long, but opt for products with SPF ratings to save your skin.

Contents of my summer beach bag essentials


Bikinis: Zaful Straw Hat: Target Glasses: AliExpress


Denim Shorts: Zara Bikini: Tigerlilly Glasses: Princess Polly Striped Top: H&M Straw Bag: Kmart

SUMMER 17' MOODBOARD


bottom of page