top of page
Writer's pictureMira Gietzel

My 10 minute, 10 step daily makeup routine



As much as I do love full-face glam for a special occasion or night out, who realistically has the time to draw the perfect wing and apply lashes first thing in the morning? (Apart from Kim K who spends 2 hours in hair and makeup every day, but even she has a glam squad to do it for her..)

I'd much rather squeeze in an extra bit of sleep, enjoy a morning coffee and make a wholesome breakfast, while still looking good enough to take on my day.

My go-to makeup is a simple, fresh-faced and glowy look that can be achieved in 10 steps and 10 minutes. This look is perfect for busy girls with an on-the go schedule, and doesn't require much product or makeup expertise.


It's taken me many years of early wake ups to practice and perfect my morning makeup routine in 10 minutes or less, but now I can go from "get this girl 10 coffee's and a week of sleep" to ready for work, lunches, shopping - you name it- in no time.

Here are my 10 steps and staple products for a flawless and fresh-faced look, perfect for the day-to-day routine:


Prime/Moisturise

For a smoother makeup application and to keep your face looking flawless all day long, it's important to prep your skin before applying foundation. Use a priming lotion or even your regular face moisturiser will do the trick.

Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Instant Retouch Primer


Foundation

You don't need a lot of foundation, just enough to evenly blend across your face and partially down the neck. If possible try to apply your foundation in natural lighting so you can make sure it's even, artificial lights and shadows can be deceiving.

Too Faced Born This Way Foundation


Conceal

I apply a concealer shade a few tones lighter than my foundation to the areas on my face I wish to look brighter - I focus on drawing an upside down triangle under my eyes, as well as on my forehead from where my nose and eyebrows meet. I also conceal my eyelids, and apply a small dab to my nose and chin to create a highlighted look in the centre of my face.

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer

I use a damp beauty blender to apply my foundation and concealer, I find this technique a lot more efficient than using a brush that often leaves streaks.


Set

Long gone are the days of finding a compact powder to match your foundation colour. Translucent powders are the best way to set your face base, which won't leave you looking too powdery or matte. I apply a small layer over my whole face, but a tiny bit extra under my eyes to brighten and to areas prone to creasing.

Coty AirSpun Loose Face Powder


Bronze

At this stage your face is probably looking like a round moon with little definition. Bring it back to life with some colour by applying a bronzer on the space below your cheekbones, as well as lightly shaping the outside of your face around your temples, forehead and jaw line. I also apply a touch around my nose bridge to create more definition.

Too Faced Sweethearts Luminous Bronzer


Highlight and Blush

For my daily makeup I like to keep my blush application to a minimum, and add a light rosy pink shade to the apples of my cheeks for a natural looking flush. I also blend my highlight into this area and across the full length of the cheek bones. With the excess highlight product on the brush i'll run it lightly down the tip of my nose for an overall healthy glow. I also make my eyes pop by adding a touch of highlight to the inner corner of my eyes and brow arch.

Pale skin tones should opt for a lighter, pearlescent or icy highlight shade, champagne and peachy-gold tones for medium to olive complexions, and variations of rose gold and warmer bronzey highlighters for darker skin tones.

E.L.F Baked Highlighter Moonlight Pearls


Brows

Before filling in my brows, I take a spooly and brush the hairs in an upward & outward direction. Rather than the Instagram brow that gives a bold, sharp carved out brow, I prefer to fill in my eyebrows with a brow pomade or powder and follow the natural shape, just giving them more volume and definition. E.L.F Eyebrow Kit


Curl and Lash

Curling your eyelashes will instantly widen and brighten your eyes, then I take my all-time favourite drug-store mascara and make my lashes long and wispy, but only apply a few coats to prevent them looking clumpy. I also apply a small layer to my bottom lash line to make my eyes appear bigger.

Maybelline Colossal Volum' Express Mascara


Nude Lip

My look wouldn't be complete without a touch of pinky nude lip pencil and a lipstick, slightly overdrawn to give my lips a plump look. Nude flatters every skin tone, outfit and occasion - but always opt for one shade lighter or darker than your complexion, rather than an exact match.

NYX Lip Lingerie - Lace Detail


Spray to Set

To get the most wear out of your makeup, spritz it with a setting mist or rosewater spray to lock it in place and to give your skin a hydration boost. It will also help your makeup look less powdery. Now it's ready for anything.

Kat Von D Lock-It Setting Mist

And just like that, you're looking flawless yet effortless, and ready to take on your day. Leave your favourite beauty tips and tricks in the comments!

xxx


bottom of page