top of page
Writer's pictureMira Gietzel

Do Not Travel*



Travelling while you are young will ruin your life.

Most young adults get the urge to travel, crave an adventure and set foot in a foreign country seeking fulfilment of exploring new territories and finding themselves.

But resist the impulse, do not travel, do not buy that first plane ticket.

Travelling has a way of changing your lives desires and altering your mindset; and being young and impressionable is just asking for this fire in your belly.

It has this magical way of expanding your horizons, opening your consciousness and setting off a little lightbulb that shows you how wonderful life can be. Then when the experience is all over and your mundane reality sets back in, everything has changed and nothing feels right anymore.

Have you ever felt out of place in a social setting or at a party like you don't belong where you are standing? Travelling makes your own home feel like somewhere you don't belong, but rather someplace far away which is yet to be discovered through travel.

Can you be homesick to a place you've never been? Because I feel like I am well accustomed with the feeling. I don't feel at home in my country anymore.

As you settle back into the normalities of your daily routine, you'll find that your work or study isn't satisfying the hole in your heart that travelling left, and trying to focus becomes near impossible with the constant lure of travel calling your name.

You find yourself constantly scrolling the web for airfare deals and foreign Air BnB appartments, and stalking geotagged Instagram locations. Your friends' Facebook travel albums bring back memories of your time abroad, followed by an influx of sadness and nostalgia.

Your values change and materialistic things that once fulfilled you are no longer of importance, but instead longing for the memories made and priceless cultural enlightenment.

You ask yourself;

"Do I really want a stagnant 9 to 5 career with no holiday leave?"

"Is piling up this student loan debt going to affect my travel allowance in the long term?"

"Will my job fire me if I take more time off for another 3 week vacation?"

"Where can I book my next flight to with only a Centrelink student budget?"

Since my high school era has come to an end I have travelled to various widths of the world and everything has changed. Now I never can stay in one place for too long, my feet itch and I crave change and long for that high that travelling leaves.

The worst part about travelling while you are young is that you will never be able to stop. The travel bug is real and its side effects will infect you for life.

However when your 20's have come to an end you will have most likely created commitments like a career, a relationship, a house, a pet and some debt that keeps you grounded from the addictive affects of travelling.

**Of course I do not mean one bit of this; please travel, see the world, adventure, get lost, fall in love with a city and find yourself. Travelling is one of life's greatest pleasures that should be indulged in as often as possible, it's the only thing you can buy that makes you richer.

May the travel bug infect us all,

Happy travels xxx



bottom of page