top of page
Writer's pictureMira Gietzel

Hong Kong Travel Diaries

Updated: Jun 30, 2022

Ni Hao! It's been another hot minute since I've sat down to write a blog post, but this time it's from my window view desk looking out among the high-rises of Hong Kong's iconic skyline. I've been living in Hong Kong for the past 7 weeks now, on an internship experience through Griffith University, and I'm absolutely bittersweet for it all to be coming to an end.


It's been a whirlwind of a time living amongst the chaos of city-wide protests and I've had my eyes opened to the message behind the madness, but I wouldn't change this experience for the world.


I embarked on this journey with 26 strangers from different backgrounds and fields of study, and I've come away with a handful of friends I cherish ever so dearly, and there hasn't been a dull moment since I landed.


Hong Kong has deeply surprised me with its diversity in everything from dense urban jungle, lush natural beauty surrounding the island and rich cultural history. And I've had no shortage of amazing food with the wide range of cuisines on offer. You can even get Michelin Star meals for McDonalds prices.


Although I've lived among the hustle and bustle of the city for 7 weeks, most of my time has been occupied interning at the PR firm of my dreams, so I've really only had a few weekends to play tourist.


I wanted to share with you some of my favourite Hong Kong experiences, worthwhile if you're spending a few days in the magical city scene:



Comments


bottom of page